Audio/video stream recording forums

Attention Visitor:
You may have to register or log in before you can post:
  • Click the register link to sign up.
  • Registered members please fill in the form below and click the "Log in" button.
To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Audio/video stream recording forums > Streaming media recording forum > Video stream recording
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2012, 12:29 PM
NobodyHere NobodyHere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
NobodyHere is on a distinguished road
Default

[Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Hello.

I"m running Linux, and I'm using Wireshark to find the info on certain video streams. A waaaaays back, I had done this by pausing & playing the video while looking for the RTMP invoke message.

Now that I've found the appropriate info in the 'follow TCP packet' screen, I can't remember how to input this into rtmpdump.

Could someone show me an example of how to enter the commands found by Wireshark into rtmpdump from say this video?

http://www.viki.com/channels/5453-killer-k/videos/51483

This is one of the videos I had successfully dumped about a year back using this method. All I did to download the 480p version was switch "5837_KillerK_002_360p.mp4" to "5837_KillerK_002_480p.mp4".

Because I had only done the procedure once or twice, I'm unable to remember exactly how I got the overall parameters right.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by NobodyHere : 09-26-2012 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:04 PM
NobodyHere NobodyHere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
NobodyHere is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Okay.

1. I started Wireshark.
2. Under Start, I selected my capture interface (eth0 for myself)
3. In the "Filter" field/box, I typed "rtmpt", and hit enter. You may need to use "rtmp", or "rtmpe" instead.
4. Went to my web browser, and started playing the video. I paused, and resumed, it several times.
5. I found those instances of the video being played, or paused, under the "Info" column on Wireshark. For this example, I used a "pauseRaw ()" event under the "Info" section.
6. I right clicked on that event, and chose "Follow TCP Stream".
7. I did a "Find" search in the "Follow TCP Stream" output window for "rtmp", or "play". It took me to the relevant section here.
Quote:
"................connect.?..........app...0035 4A/videos/encoded/KillerK..flashVer...LNX 11,2,202,238..swfUrl..Ohttp://a2.vikiassets.com/assets./vikiplayer-e61eac67f28f27fdf570431ec48ac230.swf..tcUrl..=rtmp ://fms.354a.edgecastcdn.net/00354A/videos/encoded/KillerK..fpad.....capabilities.@m........audioCode cs.@.........videoCodecs.@o.......
videoFunction.?.........pageUrl..@http://www.viki.com/channe.ls/5453-killer-k/videos/51483?id=51483..objectEncoding.@.................. .....&%..............&%................ ................_result.?..........fmsVer..
FMS/4,5,2,517..capabilities.@o........mode.?.......... ...level...status..code...NetConnection.Connect.Su ccess..description...Connection succeeded...objectEncoding.@.........data.......ve rsion...4,5,2,517.........
.........&%................onBWDone..........C.+0. .......createStream.@........B.....
.........................._result.@.........?..... ....+B..D.........play.............mp4:5837_Killer K_002_360p.mp4............@....................... ......................... ..................................onStatus........ .....level...status..code...NetStream.Play.Reset.. description..0Playing and resetting
8. Here is the code I used to successfully download the video. You can compare it to the above output to see what I used.
Quote:
rtmpdump -r rtmp://fms.354a.edgecastcdn.net/00354A/videos/encoded/KillerK -p 'http://www.viki.com/channe.ls/5453-killer-k/videos/51483?id=51483' -y mp4:5837_KillerK_002_360p.mp4 -a 00354A/videos/encoded/KillerK -f 'LNX 11,2,202,238' -s http://a2.vikiassets.com/assets./vik...1ec48ac230.swf -o /run/media/root/5837_KillerK_002_360p.mp4.flv
The only thing I did differently than what the man pages marked the parameters for was use the tcURL rtmp link with the "-r" parameter instead of the "-t" parameter.


Quote:
NAME
rtmpdump - RTMP streaming media client

SYNOPSIS
rtmpdump -r url [-n hostname] [-c port] [-l protocol] [-S hostort]
[-a app] [-t tcUrl] [-p pageUrl] [-s swfUrl] [-f flashVer] [-u auth]
[-C conndata] [-y playpath] [-Y] [-v] [-d subscription] [-e] [-k skip]
[-A start] [-B stop] [-b buffer] [-m timeout] [-T key] [-j JSON]
[-w swfHash] [-x swfSize] [-W swfUrl] [-X swfAge] [-o output] [-#] [-q]
[-V] [-z]
rtmpdump -h

BTW - You can simply switch out the 360p with 480p in the file-name. This doesn't work on some sites where video has multiple resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2012, 08:25 PM
svnpenn svnpenn is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 757
svnpenn is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: [Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Easier

Code:
$ rtmp-host.sh
Killed flash player for clean dump.
Restart video then press enter here

127.0.0.1 fms.354a.edgecastcdn.net
127.0.0.1 s3w2wjf1m963j4.cloudfront.net
127.0.0.1 viikiifvs.cdnetworks.net
Press enter to start RtmpSrv, then restart video.

RTMP Server v2.4-41-g7bae82a
(c) 2010 Andrej Stepanchuk, Howard Chu; license: GPL

Streaming on rtmp://0.0.0.0:1935
WARNING: Trying different position for client digest!
Closing connection... done!

RTMPDump v2.4-41-g7bae82a
(c) 2010 Andrej Stepanchuk, Howard Chu, The Flvstreamer Team; license: GPL
0
8
Exiting
rtmpdump -r "rtmp://fms.354a.edgecastcdn.net/00354A/videos/encoded/KillerK" -a "
00354A/videos/encoded/KillerK" -f "WIN 11,3,300,257" -W "http://a2.vikiassets.co
m/assets/vikiplayer-e61eac67f28f27fdf570431ec48ac230.swf" -p "http://www.viki.co
m/channels/5453-killer-k/videos/51483" -y "mp4:5837_KillerK_002_360p.mp4" -o mp4
_5837_KillerK_002_360p.flv
RTMPDump v2.4-41-g7bae82a
(c) 2010 Andrej Stepanchuk, Howard Chu, The Flvstreamer Team; license: GPL
Connecting ...
INFO: Connected...
Starting download at: 0.000 kB
INFO: Metadata:
INFO:   duration              4046.49
INFO:   moovPosition          32.00
INFO:   width                 640.00
INFO:   height                360.00
INFO:   videocodecid          avc1
INFO:   audiocodecid          mp4a
INFO:   avcprofile            66.00
INFO:   avclevel              30.00
INFO:   aacaot                2.00
INFO:   videoframerate        29.97
INFO:   audiosamplerate       48000.00
INFO:   audiochannels         2.00
INFO: trackinfo:
INFO:   length                121391270.00
INFO:   timescale             30000.00
INFO:   language              und
INFO: sampledescription:
INFO:   sampletype            avc1
INFO:   length                194231296.00
INFO:   timescale             48000.00
INFO:   language              und
INFO: sampledescription:
INFO:   sampletype            mp4a
1152.627 kB / 8.04 sec (0.1%)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2012, 07:35 AM
NobodyHere NobodyHere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
NobodyHere is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: [Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Does your script work in Linux yet? Also it'd be nice if it could just dump the required command to a text, or the terminal/console, for manual copy-pasting. Like I mentioned above, you can switch the 360 with 480 in the file name.

With the exception of your modem/device being supported, this Wireshark method should also work consistently across Windows, and Linux platforms.

I don't believe current Windows OSes can capture from USB 3G/4G (dongle) modems. I actually use one, so I can confirm that Windows 7 doesn't. It works fine from Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2012, 12:16 AM
tempy tempy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
tempy is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: [Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Bro. Use Mediabox, it runs portably, run it first then head to the site, pop up will show as soon as you hit play, click it then right click, download by blader, boom. No need to use rtmpdump for these type of soft flash protocols. rtmpdump is only useful for the latest hard a** streams lately which I have been struggling.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2012, 08:06 AM
evol evol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 228
evol is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: [Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


MediaBox is built round RTMPDump just like there other program Coojah 6.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:26 PM
tempy tempy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
tempy is on a distinguished road
Default

Re: [Solved] How to translate Wireshark info into rtmpdump command?


Yea, I figured. Seems to me that there's a new wave of algorithms rolling out from Ooyala. Tough stuff recently.
Reply With Quote
Reply Post New Thread
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by All-streaming-media.com; 2006-2011
vB forum hacked with Zoints add-ons