Audio/video stream recording forums (http://stream-recorder.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video stream recording (http://stream-recorder.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -  

How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders

(http://stream-recorder.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7039)

spr 07-18-2010 07:09 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Hi,

Thanks for quick response.

Deleted the cache folder contents - no change. Only point is RTMP connect gets 10060 no socket errors a couple of times, path is still not found.

using: RTMPDump v2.2d (r474)
On my work PCs JSON parser keeps crashing too.
I have tried ivewnapper and iviewnapperlite - they trigger the RTMP download, then just exit with no progress.

I have come recently to iview - specifically for the recent Four Corners episodes - so i've never actually had any of these downloaders working.
Perhaps i've missed something really obvious? :o

Also, one tiny point the description in the batch file still says 15.69 - in the file from http://www.4shared.com/file/750EOTqx...der_v1570.html

Anywho 07-19-2010 01:19 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spr (Post 20308)
Hi,

Thanks for quick response.

Deleted the cache folder contents - no change. Only point is RTMP connect gets 10060 no socket errors a couple of times, path is still not found.

Is port 1935 unblocked on your modem? Sometimes a slow or flakey connection will do this too.

Quote:

using: RTMPDump v2.2d (r474)
On my work PCs JSON parser keeps crashing too.
I have tried ivewnapper and iviewnapperlite - they trigger the RTMP download, then just exit with no progress.
This usually happens at workplaces. Usually they block all ports except those for http or mail or else deny access to certain websites or secondary sites that those websites may use.

RTMPdump needs port 1935 to be accessible (unblocked) and needs access to Hostworks or Akamai servers as well (depends on your ISP).

If the JSON parser is dying, then it isn't getting fed anything usable... This smells like your workplace has blocked full access to the ABC iView site. This might also be a permissions problem with the executable files that the downloader(s) will need. Try it in an admin account and see if it works then.

Quote:

I have come recently to iview - specifically for the recent Four Corners episodes - so i've never actually had any of these downloaders working.
Perhaps i've missed something really obvious? :o
Sounds like modem/firewall/access issues ;)
Quote:

Also, one tiny point the description in the batch file still says 15.69 - in the file from http://www.4shared.com/file/750EOTqx...der_v1570.html
Oops :o Fixed now - thanks! ;)

ret 07-20-2010 04:04 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Hi guys, appreciate all the fine work you do.

Just wanted to let you know the iViewFox plug-in seems to be a bit broken (still) on the Mac platform.

The terminal output looks like this:
Code:

/Users/ret/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/
iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@forboden.com/rtmpdump
/b.command ; exit;
OK-Computer:~ ret$ /Users/ret/Library/Application\ Support/
Firefox/Profiles/iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@
forboden.com/rtmpdump/b.command ; exit;
/Users/ret/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles
/iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@forboden.com
/rtmpdump/b.command: line 2: -o: command not found
logout

[Process completed]

A quick look at the insides of b.command, and the problem seems to be quotation-itis, with the ampersand in the URL getting interpreted by the shell:

Code:

#!/bin/bash
"/Users/ret/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles
/iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@forboden.com/rtmpdump
/rtmpdump-OSX-Intel" -e "-r"
rtmp://cp53909.edgefcs.net////flash/playback/_definst_/thewire_10_04_11_fix.mp4
"-a" ondemand?auth=daEa5dsdhdhaobydpdDajbqa2bYaKbhdlbU-bmrxcR-8-qnt_yHynJ&aifp=v001
"-o" /Users/ret/Downloads/thewire_10_04_11_fix.mp4 "-W"
http://www.abc.net.au/iview/images/iview.jpg

I suspect the "ondemand?auth..." argument should be in single quotes to avoid interpolation, but obviously monkey-patching that b.command file and executing it independently does not work.

Sorry if there's a more appropriate place I should be reporting this bug...

cheers
RET

ret 07-20-2010 04:37 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
$DEITY helps those who help themselves, it seems :D

The following patch to iv.js seems to have fixed it:

Code:

OK-Computer:content ret$ pwd
/Users/ret/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@forboden.com/chrome/content
OK-Computer:content ret$ diff -u iv.js.orig iv.js
--- iv.js.orig  2010-07-15 08:37:22.000000000 +1000
+++ iv.js  2010-07-20 20:11:27.000000000 +1000
@@ -160,7 +160,7 @@
                    '-r',
                    'rtmp://cp53909.edgefcs.net////flash/playback/_definst_/'+epDS,
                    '-a',
-                  'ondemand?auth='+xStore.token,
+                  "'ondemand?auth="+xStore.token+"'",
                    '-o',
                    filePathAndName,
                    '-W',
@@ -177,7 +177,7 @@
                        '-r',
                        'rtmp://203.18.195.10/',
                        '-a',
-                      'ondemand?auth='+xStore.token,
+                        "'ondemand?auth="+xStore.token+"'",
                        '-y',
                        fileEx+fTypeSplit[0],
                        '-o',
OK-Computer:content ret$

Hope this helps.

cheers
RET

Yansky 07-20-2010 06:44 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ret (Post 20346)
$DEITY helps those who help themselves, it seems :D

The following patch to iv.js seems to have fixed it:

Code:

OK-Computer:content ret$ pwd
/Users/ret/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/iaqewbwz.default/extensions/iViewFox@forboden.com/chrome/content
OK-Computer:content ret$ diff -u iv.js.orig iv.js
--- iv.js.orig  2010-07-15 08:37:22.000000000 +1000
+++ iv.js  2010-07-20 20:11:27.000000000 +1000
@@ -160,7 +160,7 @@
                    '-r',
                    'rtmp://cp53909.edgefcs.net////flash/playback/_definst_/'+epDS,
                    '-a',
-                  'ondemand?auth='+xStore.token,
+                  "'ondemand?auth="+xStore.token+"'",
                    '-o',
                    filePathAndName,
                    '-W',
@@ -177,7 +177,7 @@
                        '-r',
                        'rtmp://203.18.195.10/',
                        '-a',
-                      'ondemand?auth='+xStore.token,
+                        "'ondemand?auth="+xStore.token+"'",
                        '-y',
                        fileEx+fTypeSplit[0],
                        '-o',
OK-Computer:content ret$

Hope this helps.

cheers
RET

I've made the change with the latest version.
Note: sometimes it takes a while for the latest version to make it to the front page. Check the versions page for the latest updates - https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...0505/versions/

hyc 07-20-2010 01:04 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Anywho (Post 20312)
RTMPdump needs port 1935 to be accessible (unblocked) and needs access to Hostworks or Akamai servers as well (depends on your ISP).

Don't forget that you can also use a SOCKS4 proxy if necessary...

Yansky 07-24-2010 01:34 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
I posted this to the rtmp mailing list, but I thought I'd post it here too in case someone could help:

The ABC iView site ( http://www.abc.net.au/iview/ ) just added a 24 hour news streaming video. This is different to it's other videos on the site as it never stops streaming (obviously). I'm having some problems figuring out how to find the right perameters to download some of the stream. Here is a copy of the command line output:
http://pastebin.com/yXPG3fXt

I also tried to use rtmpsuck, but I'm not sure if I have it working properly. Here is the output from rtmpsuck:
http://pastebin.com/qg4KDbBR

I'm unsure how to proceed. Any ideas?

Cheers,
Yansky.

gxdata 07-24-2010 02:25 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 20424)
The ABC iView site just added a 24 hour news streaming video.

Can't help, but is the constant streaming actually in operation? I know it's not in "freezone" / unmetered yet.

Yansky 07-24-2010 02:33 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gxdata (Post 20425)
Can't help, but is the constant streaming actually in operation? I know it's not in "freezone" / unmetered yet.

I would have thought it was automatically in the freezone. Do you see it available in the top-left of the iview site?

Anywho 07-24-2010 03:11 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 20426)
I would have thought it was automatically in the freezone.

Currently metered - so won't appear in your "FreeZone".


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.