Audio/video stream recording forums (http://stream-recorder.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video stream recording (http://stream-recorder.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -  

How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders

(http://stream-recorder.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7039)

by-gum 01-09-2011 04:06 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Anywho - Thanks for all your work!
I don't know why or how the host changed to Akamai.
We still have a problem:

---------

DEBUG: SendPlay, seekTime=0.00, dLength=0, sending play: /flash/playback/_definst_/mp4:deep_10_01_02
DEBUG: Invoking play
DEBUG: sending ctrl. type: 0x0003
DEBUG: RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 10275 bytes
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: NULL
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, server invoking <_onbwcheck>
DEBUG: Invoking _result
DEBUG: RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 187 bytes
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: NULL
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: <Name: level, STRING: error>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: code, STRING: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: description, STRING: Failed to play deep_10_01_02; stream not found.>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: details, STRING: deep_10_01_02>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: clientid, STRING: lG-w9qMH>
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, server invoking <onStatus>
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, onStatus: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound
ERROR: Closing connection: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound
DEBUG: Closing connection.

Error code 1

Yansky 01-09-2011 05:07 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by by-gum (Post 24389)
Anywho - Thanks for all your work!
I don't know why or how the host changed to Akamai.
We still have a problem:

---------

DEBUG: SendPlay, seekTime=0.00, dLength=0, sending play: /flash/playback/_definst_/mp4:deep_10_01_02
DEBUG: Invoking play
DEBUG: sending ctrl. type: 0x0003
DEBUG: RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 10275 bytes
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: NULL
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, server invoking <_onbwcheck>
DEBUG: Invoking _result
DEBUG: RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 187 bytes
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: NULL
DEBUG: (object begin)
DEBUG: Property: <Name: level, STRING: error>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: code, STRING: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: description, STRING: Failed to play deep_10_01_02; stream not found.>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: details, STRING: deep_10_01_02>
DEBUG: Property: <Name: clientid, STRING: lG-w9qMH>
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: (object end)
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, server invoking <onStatus>
DEBUG: HandleInvoke, onStatus: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound
ERROR: Closing connection: NetStream.Play.StreamNotFound
DEBUG: Closing connection.

Error code 1

On line 20 of the .command change the params again and add the "-z" parameter for "debug level output"

That should reveal some more info.

Anywho 01-09-2011 05:10 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by by-gum (Post 24389)
Anywho - Thanks for all your work!
I don't know why or how the host changed to Akamai.
We still have a problem:

Using Akamai or Hostworks is dependent on the ISP you are using. If your ISP offers un-metered access to iView, then you'll most likely be using Hostworks. Otherwise it's Akamai.

Quote:

DEBUG: Property: <Name: description, STRING: Failed to play deep_10_01_02; stream not found.>
I need to see what RTMPdump is trying to do with the commandline arguments it's been given. So I need this part as well. E.g:

Code:

RTMPDump v2.3
(c) 2010 Andrej Stepanchuk, Howard Chu, The Flvstreamer Team; license: GPL
DEBUG: Protocol : RTMP
DEBUG: Hostname : 203.18.195.10
DEBUG: Port    : 1935
DEBUG: Playpath : mp4:deep_10_01_02
DEBUG: tcUrl    : rtmp://203.18.195.10:1935/ondemand?auth=4B35A3DDCE7F13DF079C
DEBUG: swfUrl  : http://www.abc.net.au/iview/images/iview.jpg
DEBUG: app      : ondemand?auth=4B35A3DDCE7F13DF079C
DEBUG: live    : no
DEBUG: timeout  : 30 sec
DEBUG: SWFSHA256:
DEBUG: 96 cc 76 f1 d5 38 5f b5 cd a6 e2 ce 5c 73 32 3a
DEBUG: 39 90 43 d0 bb 6c 68 7e dd 80 7e 5c 73 c4 2b 37
DEBUG: SWFSize  : 2122
DEBUG: Setting buffer time to: 36000000ms

A good thing you could add to the script for the time-being is a line of code just before where each RTMPdump command is executed that will "echo" the command line as fed to the command interpreter. That way you (and us) can see what is fed to the command interpreter and if the syntax is correct.

For Hostworks the output is (Windows):
Code:

bin\rtmpdump.exe --resume  -r rtmp://203.18.195.10/ -a ondemand?auth=D536ABCD8E3F12D988EC -y mp4:deep_10_01_02 -o "The Deep Series 1 Episode 2.mp4" -W http://www.abc.net.au/iview/images/iview.jpg
For Akamai the output would be (Windows):
Code:

bin\rtmpdump.exe --resume  -r "rtmp://cp53909.edgefcs.net///flash/playback/_definst_/deep_10_01_02.mp4" -a ondemand?auth="E17AF96B1BAE58C69288" -o "The Deep Series 1 Episode 2.mp4" -W http://www.abc.net.au/iview/images/iview.jpg

Anywho 01-09-2011 05:12 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 24391)
On line 20 of the .command change the params again and add the "-z" parameter for "debug level output"

That should reveal some more info.

I think what is happening is that the Akamai server is being selected but the filename given to RTMPdump is for the Hostworks server.

edit: Ahh! The problem is exactly that. The script is not getting the HOST and TOKEN first. Then when it comes to decide which filename format to use, it is always picking HOSTWORKS because the HOST variable hasn't been defined first. The structure of that code has to be changed slightly so that the HOST and TOKEN is gotten from the ABC server first.

So this code:
Code:

echo Retrieving Token...
curl -q "http://tviview.abc.net.au/iview/auth/?v2" > "$TEMPDIR"/auth.xml
TOKEN=`cat "$TEMPDIR"/auth.xml | grep token | sed 's/.*<token>//g' | sed 's/\\&amp;/\\&/g' | sed 's,</token>.*,,g' | sed 's/ //g'`
HOST=`cat "$TEMPDIR"/auth.xml | grep host | sed 's/<host>//g' | sed 's,</host>,,g' | sed 's/ //g' | tr -d '\r'`

will have to be moved between these two lines of code:
Code:

while [ $RETRY -gt 0 ]; do
<put it here>
#Generate the right token & filename


by-gum 01-09-2011 11:35 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
To Anywho and Yansky

Great success!!
I cut to the chase and impemented only the latest post (getting the host and token earlier). I got a 419.2 MB MPEG-4 movie file in about 7 minutes.

MPEG Streamclip read it successfully after I changed the file extension from MP4 to FLV.

Great work and many thanks.

Yansky 01-21-2011 05:18 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
New version of iViewFox available (1.1.9)
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...wfox/versions/

I have added preferences to easily increase the buffer time (to help with large file timeouts) and to enable the debug output easily.



Also, I've updated my other rtmpdump-based addon Plus7Fox. It allows you to download shows from the http://au.tv.yahoo.com/plus7/ site.

It now works under OSX as well as windows. And has the buffer and debug preferences as well.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...7fox/versions/

gxdata 01-29-2011 04:45 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Is there any way of making the rtmpdump resumes more 'resilient' or persistent (more re-tries)?

(It's implied in the post about a new version of the iViewFox)

Usually, I can run SBS Downloader at the same time as iViewNapper but today iVN is not too good at resuming (I have better luck using the Batch Downloader).

Things seem to be more bandwidth-sensitive than usual - or is it my imagination after not using either for 3 weeks?

[edit]

Similar problems Australia-wide, for 2 days, according to the iView Mesage Board
http://www2b.abc.net.au/tmb/Client/M...0&m=11179&dm=3

gxdata 02-02-2011 07:14 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
iView, unexpectedly, is performing better than usual with a huge daily load of new programs. I'm now (past 2-3 days) getting a DL rate of 700kbps about 50% of the time. My usual was under 550 (in 2010). I don't think the quality of the copper wire has changed to my house :)

I wonder if the (Hostworks) servers have been enhanced with the accelerated workload?

Does ABC report client usage of iView? I'm guessing it is way up, to justify the 300%+ increase in weekly show numbers in the past 2 months (much more over the past 12 months).

gxdata 02-02-2011 07:58 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
A couple of amusing glitches -

(from posts I just saw on iView Message Board)

Episode 3 and 4 of Roary the Racing Car both play an episode called "Tall Story Roary", despite neither one of them being named such.

and

Subject: Posh Nosh captioning

I know it is a comedy, but the mis-matched captions are a laugh.
Not just out of synch, but from a different show?

Anywho 02-02-2011 01:55 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gxdata (Post 24993)
iView, unexpectedly, is performing better than usual with a huge daily load of new programs. I'm now (past 2-3 days) getting a DL rate of 700kbps about 50% of the time. My usual was under 550 (in 2010). I don't think the quality of the copper wire has changed to my house :)

I wonder if the (Hostworks) servers have been enhanced with the accelerated workload?

Kids are back at school and they haven't stepped on the throttle yet perhaps :D

Quote:

Does ABC report client usage of iView? I'm guessing it is way up, to justify the 300%+ increase in weekly show numbers in the past 2 months (much more over the past 12 months).
Probably around budget funding/allocation times. There might be an increase due to the Christmas holidays and less disposable incomes (Christmas presents) poking holes in parent's wallets causing more to stay at home... And don't forget the games consoles now can get/use iView as well.

gxdata 02-02-2011 09:06 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Anywho (Post 25001)
Kids are back at school and they haven't stepped on the throttle yet perhaps :D

Probably around budget funding/allocation times. There might be an increase due to the Christmas holidays and less disposable incomes (Christmas presents) poking holes in parent's wallets causing more to stay at home... And don't forget the games consoles now can get/use iView as well.

Could be. But I suspect iView / online media is being resourced much better.

darian 02-05-2011 09:51 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Recently I have noticed that if I start a download with iviewnapper or sbsnapper, my Firefox browser loses access to DNS resolution and can no longer find web pages. Once I stop downloading, access to DNS resolution is immediately available.

Anyone know what might be happening?

I used to be able to browse concurrently with downloading, so something has changed recently.

Maes 02-06-2011 03:06 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Hi,

I'm trying to get iviewfox and plus7fox working, but I'm having the same problem.

After rebooting firefox (OSX 10.6) after installing the add-on I get asked to run this in terminal:

chmod a+x /Users/luc/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*

But when I do I get this error:

chmod: /Users/luc/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default: No such file or directory
chmod: User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*: No such file or directory

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Anywho 02-06-2011 10:06 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Maes (Post 25090)
After rebooting firefox (OSX 10.6) after installing the add-on I get asked to run this in terminal:

chmod a+x /Users/luc/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*

But when I do I get this error:

chmod: /Users/luc/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default: No such file or directory
chmod: User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*: No such file or directory

I don't have a Mac, but I think I can see where the error is:
Code:

chmod a+x /Users/luc/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*
looks like it should be:
Code:

chmod a+x /Users/luc/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/d8vw6mmg.Default\ User/extensions/Plus7Fox@forboden.com/rtmpdump/*
Note the slash+space between "Default" and "User"? ;)

Anywho 02-06-2011 10:13 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by darian (Post 25088)
Recently I have noticed that if I start a download with iviewnapper or sbsnapper, my Firefox browser loses access to DNS resolution and can no longer find web pages. Once I stop downloading, access to DNS resolution is immediately available.

Anyone know what might be happening?

I used to be able to browse concurrently with downloading, so something has changed recently.

Sounds like you have a slow connection and RTMPdump is sucking the bandwidth out of it. Usually DNS queries are supposed to respond in a certain amount of time, else you get a timeout error. If RTMPdump is sucking everything down at maximum speed, then there is a possibility your connection is getting flooded and the DNS response is then taking too long to get through.

So what's changed? Perhaps the path your connection is taking to the servers is less congested now and RTMPdump is taking a fair chunk of the bandwidth now.

Yansky 02-07-2011 01:53 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
For some reason the email updates to this thread seem to have stopped again for me. :confused:

Anyway, I've updated iViewFox and Plus7Fox to fix the text escape issues.


https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...7fox/versions/

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...wfox/versions/

Maes 02-07-2011 02:15 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Thanks Anywho.

Both iViewfox and Plus7Fox are working for me now.

darian 02-07-2011 02:22 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Anywho (Post 25099)
Sounds like you have a slow connection and RTMPdump is sucking the bandwidth out of it. Usually DNS queries are supposed to respond in a certain amount of time, else you get a timeout error.

I expect that is it: on a good day my bandwidth is only 450kBps due to distance from the exchange, but recently it has been about 300kBps.

I seem to recall RTMPdump not using the whole bandwidth before, but maybe now the total has dropped to RTMPdump levels and it takes priority, blocking everything else out.

kramund 02-09-2011 12:56 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Hi Have just installed iviewfox into Firefox on my Mac OSx.
The scripts appear to run fine but when the download is complete I cant view it in any video program (ie Quicktime, Itunes, Toast 10 etc) each program says it doesn't know the file type.
Is the file in a Mp4 format or something different - is there something I can do?

thanks

Yansky 02-09-2011 12:58 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25143)
Hi Have just installed iviewfox into Firefox on my Mac OSx.
The scripts appear to run fine but when the download is complete I cant view it in any video program (ie Quicktime, Itunes, Toast 10 etc) each program says it doesn't know the file type.
Is the file in a Mp4 format or something different - is there something I can do?

thanks

Have you tried VLC? That will play pretty much anything.
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html

kramund 02-09-2011 01:20 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
No I havent but I wanted to be able to import the video to itunes to sync to my ipad for later viewing ... however, I assume the file format used by iViewfox is mp4 compatible?

blood.eaglz 02-09-2011 01:33 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25146)
No I havent but I wanted to be able to import the video to itunes to sync to my ipad for later viewing ... however, I assume the file format used by iViewfox is mp4 compatible?

this might help explain thing for you

the format that iView uses is F4V, which is just flash video (.flv) container with MPEG4 and AAC streams, however for whatever reason they are named .MP4, the files can be very easily remuxed (ie streams copyed out of the flv and placed into .mp4 containers) by using the package below (all the downloaders just copy the file from the server, so this applies to all iview downloaders)

http://rapidshare.com/files/436601834/Remux.zip
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CD4CPJ0H

[Instructions and info edited from one of my earlier posts]

This is a couple of bat files using ffmpeg (all of 3 must be in the same directory, with the mp4s) and another zip with a cmd program called recycle.exe which needs to be put in the windows->System32 folder

the remux.bat converts whatever file you drop n' drop on it into an mp4 with directly copied streams ie no reencoding (also works with plus7 flv files as they are also F4V), while the feeder.bat will go through every .mp4 file in the folder and will run them through the remux.bat.

the recycle.exe is required to send the originals to the recycle bin rather than deleting them outright in case some thing goes wrong.

lastly I suggest you get mediainfo as it is a nice quick acid test on whether the remux was successful as if it does not show data for all segments (container, video and audio) then its a dud and need to restore the original and go from there.

Obviously this is a windows based solution, and will be little use to you if you're running a Apple or Linux machine.

[end or repost]

After REmux you should end up with compatible MP4 files :)

If you end up with a dud let me know and I'll help you fix it with Frhed :)

kramund 02-09-2011 01:53 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25146)
No I havent but I wanted to be able to import the video to itunes to sync to my ipad for later viewing ... however, I assume the file format used by iViewfox is mp4 compatible?

Tried VLC for Mac and it works - so I am guessing the file format isnt a standard mp4 (?)

kramund 02-09-2011 01:55 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by blood.eaglz (Post 25147)
this might help explain thing for you

the format that iView uses is F4V, which is just flash video (.flv) container with MPEG4 and AAC streams, however for whatever reason they are named .MP4, the files can be very easily remuxed (ie streams copyed out of the flv and placed into .mp4 containers) by using the package below (all the downloaders just copy the file from the server, so this applies to all iview downloaders)

http://rapidshare.com/files/436601834/Remux.zip
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CD4CPJ0H

[Instructions and info edited from one of my earlier posts]

This is a couple of bat files using ffmpeg (all of 3 must be in the same directory, with the mp4s) and another zip with a cmd program called recycle.exe which needs to be put in the windows->System32 folder

the remux.bat converts whatever file you drop n' drop on it into an mp4 with directly copied streams ie no reencoding (also works with plus7 flv files as they are also F4V), while the feeder.bat will go through every .mp4 file in the folder and will run them through the remux.bat.

the recycle.exe is required to send the originals to the recycle bin rather than deleting them outright in case some thing goes wrong.

lastly I suggest you get mediainfo as it is a nice quick acid test on whether the remux was successful as if it does not show data for all segments (container, video and audio) then its a dud and need to restore the original and go from there.

Obviously this is a windows based solution, and will be little use to you if you're running a Apple or Linux machine.

[end or repost]

After REmux you should end up with compatible MP4 files :)

If you end up with a dud let me know and I'll help you fix it with Frhed :)

Thanks blood.eaglz for the info - Ill give it a crack and let you know.

Yansky 02-09-2011 04:02 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Kramund, I've re-created Blood Eaglz's batch files as an Automator script app.

http://forboden.com/coding/FLVIvewDemux4OSX.zip

Just drag the mp4 files you want to convert onto the FLVIvewDemux4OSX.app file.

It will create a new directory called 'demuxed' inside the folder of the original files with the new converted files. (i hope that makes sense)

kramund 02-09-2011 06:59 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 25150)
Kramund, I've re-created Blood Eaglz's batch files as an Automator script app.

http://forboden.com/coding/FLVIvewDemux4OSX.zip

Just drag the mp4 files you want to convert onto the FLVIvewDemux4OSX.app file.

It will create a new directory called 'demuxed' inside the folder of the original files with the new converted files. (i hope that makes sense)

Thanks Yansky - will give it a go tonight.

kramund 02-09-2011 11:53 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 25150)
Kramund, I've re-created Blood Eaglz's batch files as an Automator script app.

http://forboden.com/coding/FLVIvewDemux4OSX.zip

Just drag the mp4 files you want to convert onto the FLVIvewDemux4OSX.app file.

It will create a new directory called 'demuxed' inside the folder of the original files with the new converted files. (i hope that makes sense)

Hi Yansky - Have tried this but get a script error.

Yansky 02-10-2011 12:00 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25173)
Hi Yansky - Have tried this but get a script error.

Just to confirm, you're on a mac, not windows right?

Try doing them one at a time and delete the demuxed folder after each is complete. Delete it before you start as well.

kramund 02-10-2011 12:42 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 25174)
Just to confirm, you're on a mac, not windows right?

Try doing them one at a time and delete the demuxed folder after each is complete. Delete it before you start as well.

Yes it is a Mac.

Is the folder created in the same location as the app. Fo I need to place the app anywhere special?

Yansky 02-10-2011 12:49 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25175)
Yes it is a Mac.

Is the folder created in the same location as the app. Fo I need to place the app anywhere special?

The folder is created wherever the video you're converting is located. You don't need to place the app anywhere special. Just keep it in it's folder with ffmpeg.

kramund 02-10-2011 12:59 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 25176)
The folder is created wherever the video you're converting is located. You don't need to place the app anywhere special. Just keep it in it's folder with ffmpeg.

Ok.

This is what I am doing...

Extracted the files and a folder was created: FLViviewDemux4OSX
I copied the streamed file into this location.
I grab the file with the pointer and drop it on: FLViviewDemux4OSx app
I get the following: The action “Run Shell Script” encountered an error. Check the actionʼs properties and try running the workflow again.

Yansky 02-10-2011 01:32 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25177)
Ok.

This is what I am doing...

Extracted the files and a folder was created: FLViviewDemux4OSX
I copied the streamed file into this location.
I grab the file with the pointer and drop it on: FLViviewDemux4OSx app
I get the following: The action “Run Shell Script” encountered an error. Check the actionʼs properties and try running the workflow again.

K, sounds like there's a problem with my code. I might not have time to fix it tonight though.

If you want to try it yourself you can use the terminal in OSX. Here are the steps:
1.Open the terminal (it's in the applications/utilities folder)
2. Drag ffmpeg to the terminal. It will show up in the terminal as an absolute path to ffmpeg
3.make sure the mp4 file is in the same directory as ffmpeg
4. Add the following text to the end of the ffmpeg absolute path that is showing in the terminal
Code:

-i "filename.mp4" -vcodec copy -acodec copy newFilename.mp4
(replace filename.mp4 with the filename of the original file)

kramund 02-10-2011 02:10 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yansky (Post 25179)
K, sounds like there's a problem with my code. I might not have time to fix it tonight though.

If you want to try it yourself you can use the terminal in OSX. Here are the steps:
1.Open the terminal (it's in the applications/utilities folder)
2. Drag ffmpeg to the terminal. It will show up in the terminal as an absolute path to ffmpeg
3.make sure the mp4 file is in the same directory as ffmpeg
4. Add the following text to the end of the ffmpeg absolute path that is showing in the terminal
Code:

-i "filename.mp4" -vcodec copy -acodec copy newFilename.mp4
(replace filename.mp4 with the filename of the original file)

thanks - tried this but just kept getting an error that the file could not be found. I have made sure that the video is in the same directory. so not sure what is happening.

mce 02-10-2011 06:11 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25208)
thanks - tried this but just kept getting an error that the file could not be found. I have made sure that the video is in the same directory. so not sure what is happening.

What are the source and destination filenames you are working with?

Do either or both filesnames have spaces in them?

Make sure you uses quotes (") around the filenames.

kramund 02-10-2011 06:30 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mce (Post 25218)
What are the source and destination filenames you are working with?

Do either or both filesnames have spaces in them?

Make sure you uses quotes (") around the filenames.

I simplified the source filename to just test.mp4 and destination test2.mp4 so no spaces. I have ensured there are quotes around both filenames. The app is reporting "No such file or directory" for the source (test.mp4)

here is the string I am using:

<directory location>/ffmpeg -i "test.mp4" -vcodec copy -acodec copy "test2.mp4"

kramund 02-10-2011 06:55 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25219)
I simplified the source filename to just test.mp4 and destination test2.mp4 so no spaces. I have ensured there are quotes around both filenames. The app is reporting "No such file or directory" for the source (test.mp4)

here is the string I am using:

<directory location>/ffmpeg -i "test.mp4" -vcodec copy -acodec copy "test2.mp4"

Update: Manged to get it working by changing into the directory in Terminal first then running the app using the full directory path.

Not sure why I need to be in the directory AND provide the full path though? I thought I could do one or the other - though I am not proficient in UNIX.

kramund 02-11-2011 06:37 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramund (Post 25220)
Update: Manged to get it working by changing into the directory in Terminal first then running the app using the full directory path.

Not sure why I need to be in the directory AND provide the full path though? I thought I could do one or the other - though I am not proficient in UNIX.

Yansky / Mce - thanks for your assistance have been able to successfully capture streams and convert to mp4. Also, the file works fine on my iPad. BTW: the conversion process takes seconds which is really impressive! Again, thanks.

Budsy 02-11-2011 08:02 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Hi Folks
I registered here just to post a big thanks to the person responsible for iViewNapper.
My wife hasn't been well and our VCR crapped out last night while I was recording something for her, downloaded it today, dumped it to a USB stick and she's watching it as we speak, iViewNapper worked like a charm.
Once again, a big thanks from me.
Budsy.

mce 02-11-2011 10:11 PM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Budsy (Post 25250)
Hi Folks
I registered here just to post a big thanks to the person responsible for iViewNapper.
My wife hasn't been well and our VCR crapped out last night while I was recording something for her, downloaded it today, dumped it to a USB stick and she's watching it as we speak, iViewNapper worked like a charm.
Once again, a big thanks from me.
Budsy.

No problem mate.

If you guys watch shows on SBS or 7 then check out my other Nappers on the website.

Don't let her miss her favourite "Desperate Housewives" episodes. :)

trojan 02-15-2011 12:38 AM

Re: How to use iView (ABC Australia) downloaders


 
I have iViewFox 1.2.2 in FF3.6.13 on W7_64 and the latest update appears to have stopped it working?
The save dialog appears but the cmd window does not and no net traffic follows?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 AM.